Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band – Ragged But Right

Posted on Updated on

Jerry (whose smiling mien and sound appear on these pages far too infrequently) turns the old George Jones tune into a rollicking showcase for all the high-tone pickers he used to travel with. On this track those three-buckle pickers are David Nelson and Sandy Rothman on banjo & mandolin, with Kenny Kosek on fiddle and longtime partner John Kahn building out the rhythm section with David Kemper on the snare.

This was recorded at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre, New York, NY on 10/21/87. Quoting the whole thing ’cause you’re gonna’ want to sing along about two bars in.

Folks, I’m here to tell you that I’m ragged but I’m right
I’m a thief and a gambler, and I stay up late at night
Gonna have a steak three times a day for my board
More than any loafer in this big town can afford

A big electric fan to keep me cool while I sleep
A little baby boy plays around daddy’s feet
I’m a ramblin’ gambler and I leave every night
People, I tell you I’m ragged but I’m right

People, I’m here to tell you that I’m ragged but I’m right
I’m a thief and a gambler, and I stay up late at night
Gonna have a steak three times a day for my board
More than any loafer in this big town can afford

A big electric fan to keep me cool while I sleep
A little baby girl plays around daddy’s feet
I’m a ramblin’ gambler and I leave every night
People I tell you I’m ragged but I’m right

Leave a Reply

