Reggae Covers: Paul Davidson – Midnight Rider (The Allman Brothers)

Posted on Updated on

The recent revelation of Gene Rondo’s ‘Ramblin’ Man’ got me thinking about the infrequent appearance of Southern rock & jam band covers in in reggae. A little digging revealed Paul Davidson’s 1975 cover of this 1970 classic by Macon, GA’s The Allman Brothers.

And I don’t own the clothes I’m wearing,
And the road goes on forever,
And I’ve got one more silver dollar,
But I ain’t gonna let ’em catch me, no
Ain’t gonna let ’em catch the Midnight Rider.

Leave a Reply

