The Pixies – Here Comes Your Man

Posted on

I always identify The Pixies with a certain girlfriend of yore, whose attempts to convince me of their excellence were met with the same irrational resistance as she showed to Kevin Costner baseball movies, which she doggedly called ‘Communist.’ My question then and now was “Who d’ya think was selling the people in all those cars at the end tickets and popcorn?” In my view FoD is about aligning one’s emotional and temporal lives, which makes small potatoes of a plowed-under field of otherwise gorgeous corn.

In later years I came to love The Pixies, this tune included. I’ve no word if the ex-girlfriend ever sat through another Kevin Costner film. Here’s a Pixies song about the last out in the bottom of the ninth.

big shake on the box car moving
big shake to the land that’s falling down
is a wind makes a palm stop blowing
a big, big stone fall and break my crown

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

