The Posies – Flood of Sunshine

Posted on Updated on

I once had a girlfriend who tried to turn me on to these guys. I had my head in other places; didn’t have a taste for all of the stuff that makes songs like this great. There’s a real sense of delivery here; that they had as much fun in production as in the studio. Layer on layer of affectation that usually turns my folkist’s ear to stone here recall nothing so much as the glowing, ancient love child of Funkadelic’s ‘Maggot Brain’ and Led Zeppelin’s ‘I Thank You’.

We could drown ourselves in a flood of sunshine
We could walk all night still I’d see sunshine
It’s the calling of your name
All sounds combine into the same and I hear you.

All of this comes well-combined thematically with shots of Burning Man.

Leave a Reply

