More reasons I don’t own a car

Posted on Updated on

There’s already more CO2 in the atmosphere than we thought:

The chances of the world holding temperature rises to 2C – the level of global warming considered “safe” by scientists – appear to be fading fast with US scientists reporting the second-greatest annual rise in CO2emissions in 2012.

Carbon dioxide levels measured at at Mauna Loa observatory in Hawaiijumped by 2.67 parts per million (ppm) in 2012 to 395ppm, said Pieter Tans, who leads the greenhouse gas measurement team for the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). The record was an increase of 2.93ppm in 1998…

…and it’s irreversibly changing the Earth for the worse:

See Canada’s glaciers while you still can. Their melting is irreversible, according to projections based on real-world data and validated by satellite images.

By the end of the century, a fifth of the Canadian ice sheet – the world’s third largest – could be gone for good, raising average global sea levels by 3.5 centimetres.

If the whole ice sheet melts, it would raise the global sea level by about 20 centimetres, a fraction of the 70 and 7 metre rises expected respectively if Antarctica and Greenland each shed all their ice…

I could not be aware of the cumulative effect of carbon emissions on the Earth and not feel both responsible for the harm I was causing with my automobile and ashamed of putting my needs and desires before those of all humanity; indeed all Earthly life. In a cool, rainy place like Seattle there have definitely been times when I’d have preferred riding around in a mechanized, heated La-Z-Boy; but I get where I need to go walking with my head held high.

2 thoughts on “More reasons I don’t own a car

    Alina Dizik said:
    May 3, 2013 at 2:26 PM

    Hi there,
    I’m a freelance journalist and writing a story about people who purposely don’t own cars and the tradeoffs of owning vs finding other modes of transport. I was hoping to speak with you about your decision. Are you available on Monday or Tuesday? Please let me know as soon as possible if you have time for a 10-minute chat. You can reach me at alinadizik at gmail
    Thanks!
    Alina

      wes responded:
      May 3, 2013 at 2:31 PM

      Sure thing. Mon & Tue next week both are good for me. I’ll send you an email momentarily. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

