Townes Van Zandt – Tower Song

Posted on Updated on

It’s getting to be a pretty regular occurrence, this posting up of Townes Van Zandt lyrics. The standard I set long ago was to post great music or lyrics as they occurred to me, so this blog (at least the music feed part of it) is a product of a musical stream of consciousness. The problem is I listen to a lot of Townes Van Zandt and the man didn’t record shit music. Just so you know I don’t have some financial stake in turning the world on to the only Texas musician other than Bob Wills to rise to the level of king of his genre.

You close your eyes and speak to me
Of faith and love and destiny
As distant as eternity
From truth and understanding
The wind blows cold outside your door
It whispers words I’ve tried before
But you don’t hear me anymore
Your pride’s just too demanding.

You built your tower strong and tall
Can’t you see, it’s got to fall someday

Leave a Reply

