The Social Consciousness Artwork of Ricardo Levins Morales

Posted on Updated on

I first became aware of the work of Ricardo Levins Morales through his contributions to the much-lamented Northland Poster Collective in Minneapolis, MN. His broadly-lined woodcuts and illustrations are explosive, bold, evocative; a direct counterpoint to the sometimes delicate tint & color found in his skies, crowdscapes, and portraits.

I wasn’t able to find online representations of those selections of Levins Morales’ work I have in my home, but I did find one that used to hang in my office in the English Department at St. George’s University in Grenada, WI (so noted).

Levins Morales maintains an online studio and shop at http://www.rlmartstudio.com/ where he sells posters, buttons, stickers, and greeting & holiday cards (almost all along the lines of social justice, labor organizing, and various ongoing struggles for full civil rights). Click any image below to be taken to Levins Morales’ page for that piece. You should really browse a while. Odds are if you have a conscience you’ll find one of his works that speaks to you as well.

Angela Davis: Sister You Are Welcome In This House © Ricardo Levins Morales. All Rights Reserved.
This poster hung in my office at SGU.
“When I give food to the poor, they call me a saint. When I ask why they are poor, they call me a communist.” Dom Hélder Câmara © Ricardo Levins Morales All Rights Reserved
‘Haiti’: I admire the simple strength of Levins Morales characters. © Ricardo Levins Morales All Rights Reserved
Karl Marx as The Buddha. Levins Morales’ caption for this image is “Dialetical analysis and mindful meditation. Works for me.” © Ricardo Levins Morales

In the process of looking up information for this post I encountered this video of Levins Morales giving a brief tour of the former NPC space. He appears exactly as I expected.

Leave a Reply

