Peter Broggs – Fuss & Fight

Posted on Updated on

In Grenada Addie was 5 and Cal was 3: prime age for the young antagonist to learn the hassling trade and his sister the art of active resistance. This was the song I used to sing to defuse their occasional flare-ups, increasingly to their annoyance as they came to realize I was accusing them of being fussy. Now whenever I hear Peter Broggs’ call for peace in the community, I imagine my beautiful children in some of their less-beautiful moments and smile.

Everyday they get up and fuss
Everyday they get up and fight.
Everyday they get up and fuss
Lord everyday they get up and fight.

What you fighting for?
I really want to know right now.
What you fighting for?
I really want to know right now.

It’s a good thing to live up fully
In true love and harmony
Respectfully with dignity.
I know it’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

