Andy Williams – Can’t Get Used To Losing You

Posted on Updated on

Andy Williams was the first pop singer I learned to identify by voice. Consider the moment when music becomes something other than a seemingly-divine abstraction, when we realize that voices are people: consistent, personal, the original instrument. Close on its heels the arrives realization that we too have a persistent, original voice that’s 100% keyed to our willingness to employ it. The nascence of our creative selves happens in moments like these: waiting out a lightning storm in an Oldsmobile outside my grandmother’s house with my mom, hearing an Andy Williams song come on the radio, and calling him out by name. It’s one of my earliest memories, and as the wellspring of my creative self-awareness one of my fondest as well.

Fans of the English Beat will recognize this song from their 1980 release ‘I Just Can’t Stop It,’ and will inevitably prefer that version:

Leave a Reply

