Andrew Anderson – The One I Left Behind

Posted on Updated on

My friend Tom turned me on to Andrew Anderson both by personal recommendation and by playing his music on the stream for his amazing radio project in Roanoke (101.5FM The Music Place). This song finally rose to the top of my ginormous iTunes ‘New Music Inbox’ playlist and became an instant favorite. Not only is the sentiment on, but the singing & musicianship is as good as it gets:

The One I Left Behind

Do me a favor and make sure that you are heard
go on and make them feel every single word
and if they have the audacity to just get on up and leave
just play that song a little louder and maybe sing a tune for me

This one’s for the one I loved thats no longer on my mind
but may just cross it from time to time
and this ones for the one I left who stole my every breath
but we unfortunately ran out of time
Yeah this ones for the one I left behind

Do me a favor and make sure that you are seen
and hell it don’t matter if they all think your a little mean
do me a favor and make sure that they all see
every little part of everything that you could possibly be
and if they have the audacity to get on up and leave
just play that song a little louder and maybe sing a tune for me

(chorus)

so I’m gonna head out west and try to make my peace
and if it does not work I’ll just head back out east
and I’m gonna run, run, run until one day you see
you were a fool, too have ever left me
and one day when you see
just play that song a little louder and maybe sing a tune for me

Leave a Reply

