Garnet Rogers – Here Tonight

Posted on Updated on

This is Garnet Rogers at his lyrical best. We sing in much the same range, so as often as not when his music comes on I belt it out with him.

Well call it strange, or what you will,
that my heart can surprise me still.
Might be the sun, some trick of the light;
what I’d give to have you here tonight.

Cafe table, set for one,
watch the sails in the setting sun;
and the smell of wine, the taste of sea.
What I’d give to have you here with me.

I watch the sun fall from the sky
and give the sea an amber glow,
and I raised my glass and I said goodbye.
The sea shone gold like whiskey.

I tell myself this too will pass
but it’s a half-full half-empty glass
that such a love could bring such pain.
Oh what I’d give to have you here again.

A warm night in a whispering field;
stars were falling from the sky.
You took my hand and it was sealed.
It was gone before the morning.

I watch the moon rise from the hills;
the sea was moving soft and slow.
I tried and I could not drink my fill;
I turned the glasses over.

The days go slow. The years they flee.
The future’s not for us to see.
But for tonight, I’ll let you be.
What I’d give you have you here with me.

Oh, what I’d give to have you here with me.

Leave a Reply

