Jimmy La Fave – Valentine’s Day

Posted on Updated on

Did you ever hear a song that felt like the story of how you got where you are? I caught this crucial Jimmy La Fave rendering early in the day and it floored me: one of those moments when you knit your brow so nobody can tell you’re getting misty about what’s happening in your headphones.

I’m driving a big lazy car, rushing down the highway in the dark
Got one hand steady on the wheel, one hand’s trembling over my heart
And it’s pounding, baby, like it’s gonna bust right on through
And it ain’t gonna stop ’til I’m alone again with you.

Friend of mine became a father last night
When we spoke, in his voice, I could feel the light
Of skies and the rivers, the timberwolf in the pines
That great jukebox on Route 59
They say he travels fastest who travels alone
Tonight I miss my girl, mister, tonight I miss my home.

Is it the sound of the leaves left blown by the wayside
Got me on this spooky old highway tonight
Is it the cry of the river with the moon shining through
And what scares me, baby, what scares me is losing you.

They say if you die in your dreams, you really die in your bed
But, honey, last night I dreamed my eyes rolled straight back in my head
God’s light came shining through
Woke up in the dark, but I was born anew.

Wasn’t the cold river bottom I felt rushing over me
Wasn’t the memory of a dream that that I never could see
It wasn’t the wind through the grey fields I felt rushing through my arms
No, no, baby, it was you.

So hold me close, and say you’re forever mine.
Let me be your lonely valentine.
Lonely valentine.

Leave a Reply

