Mindful hearing among avians

Posted on Updated on

University of Montana’s Erick Greene has published a study which posits that birds utilize the warning calls of other species as “distant early warning systems.”

“Greene found that the alarm calls were passed from bird to bird across the landscape at speeds of up to 120 miles per hour.”

This has been a subject of interest for me since I learned about the studies UW’s Dr. John Marzluff performed on crows. We’re mad to think animals aren’t talking about us, and that animals can’t identify/use the alert calls of other species. People think I’m nuts when I talk about how a representative of the local crow gang scoped me out when I first came to look at my new apartment, or wonder aloud at what name he gave me.

I think sometimes we lose sight of the fact that we’re not the only thinking creatures on Earth.

Leave a Reply

